Review: Never Mind My Thigh Gap

 

Never Mind My Thigh Gap by Bronte Huskinson and Sarah Newton

0-1Book Description:

“One ordinary girl, one extraordinary moment”

There are three things everyone notices about Alice. 1. Her super-hot rugby boyfriend. 2. Her sophisticated, totally gorgeous best friend. 3. Her very noticeable 38-inch long legs.

Alice is tall — just under six feet to be exact — but her self-esteem couldn’t be smaller. When her relationship starts wavering, Alice’s perfectly beautiful best friend somehow convinces her to join a modelling competition, “for a confidence boost.” But Alice is just a normal girl; she loves ice cream too much, has an unhealthy addiction to American TV and lusts after the elusive thigh gap. She can’t even walk in heels, let alone in a bikini, but she finds herself joining Runway Models anyway.

The finale is only a few months away.

Will Alice catwalk her way to self-confidence or fail, proving everyone right?

People can surprise you.

*This book was provided by the author or publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

My Review:  Sometimes a book can surprise you. This kind of book usually isn’t my thing. I like my teen angst and drama with a side of supernatural- fantasy- death and destruction. It’s also told in first person present which I can’t stand but once I began reading it was hard to stop because I wanted to see Alice succeed. I wanted her to realize she was more than she thought she was.

Alice is charming once you get to know her. I have never been in Alice’s shoes regarding appearance (she doesn’t think she’s as pretty as her friend) but I think we can all relate to her in one way or another. We all have things we are self conscious about. We all have issues that we need to overcome. I enjoyed watching Alice become empowered and take control of her destiny. And when she tells Oscar (you’re going to love him) to stop acting like his talent is nothing, I knew for sure she was changing.

I liked Alice’s mom. Early on in the book her mom tells tells her that she can’t let a boy control her and that she needs to do what makes her happy. I liked that she flat out said it. She didn’t give it a soft sell. She was direct and honest. I think it’s hard to be that direct and honest with another adult, I can’t imagine what it’s like to give advice to a child.

This book is for anyone who wants to be something more than they are. This is a beautiful story about proving that you can believe in yourself and the transformation that takes place once you do. Don’t allow the title to make you think this book is about thigh gaps. It’s about a great deal more.

Lynn4 starPGS_round

 

 

 

 

 

 

Background Image: Pink by StockSnap

4 thoughts on “Review: Never Mind My Thigh Gap

Leave a Reply

