Review: Prudence (The Custard Protocol) by Gail Carriger

Prudence (The Custard Protocol) by Gail Carriger

Performed by Moira Quirk

PrudenceBook Description: When Prudence Alessandra Maccon Akeldama (“Rue” to her friends) is bequeathed an unexpected dirigible, she does what any sensible female under similar circumstances would do — she christens it the Spotted Custard and floats off to India.

Soon, she stumbles upon a plot involving local dissidents, a kidnapped brigadier’s wife, and some awfully familiar Scottish werewolves. Faced with a dire crisis (and an embarrassing lack of bloomers), Rue must rely on her good breeding — and her metanatural abilities — to get to the bottom of it all…
My Review: I decided to listen to this book rather than read it. I am a fan of Gail Carriger, I loved her Finishing School series but I didn’t care for Soulless. I read it and discovered that I really didn’t like Alexia. I found her to be loud, whiny, and difficult. (I tried to read Changeless I honestly did.) I felt really bad because the rest of the book was so good. I love Gail Carriger’s smooth writing style, humor, and cleverness. So this series is my do over, my second chance to join the adventure.
 I probably missed a lot by not reading the previous series but I can personally attest that you don’t need to have read the Parasol Protectorate to really enjoy Prudence. Misunderstood and resourceful to a fault, Prudence has her mothers strong will and Lord Akeldama’s everything else. I suspect she enjoys being a wolf best so I guess she gets that from her father. Rue is a unique character. She is less traditional shape-shifter and more shape-borrower. She can become any supernatural being that she touches just so long as she doesn’t get too far away from them.
This book has a varied cast of characters. My favorite relationship is between Rue and Prim. I like the contrast between them. As the audience we get to see Rue in all of her metanatural glory. It never occurs to her that she should wait for one of the boys to help her out. She dives right in to fix what’s broken. It’s interesting to see Rue compare herself to perfect Prim and come up short. The two characters compliment each other in a way only best friends can.
 Can I tell you how much I enjoyed Moira Quirk reading this book? It’s really important to get the right person to read an audio book and Moira Quirk was the perfect choice for this one. You can practically feel the motion of the story. You can actually feel Rue’s exasperation with a certain engineer. She has very distinct voices for each of the characters. For me, that’s the trademark of a truly great narrator. I will definitely look for more books performed by Moira Quirk.
 I loved the characters, the narrator is excellent, and I hope we get at least another four or five books in this series. I love it when an author can create something we haven’t see before, from something that we have.  I’m hooked.
 Lynn5 starPGS_roundThere isn’t really any questionable content in this book. Everything is proper and Victorian.
Background Image: Tree-jungle by Hans
Leave a Reply

