Get Even by Gretchen McNeil

Get Even by Gretchen McNeil

 

Get EvenBook Description:

The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars in Gretchen McNeil’s witty and suspenseful novel about four disparate girls who join forces to take revenge on high school bullies and create dangerous enemies for themselves in the process.

Bree, Olivia, Kitty, and Margot have nothing in common—at least that’s what they’d like the students and administrators of their elite private school to think. The girls have different goals, different friends, and different lives, but they share one very big secret: They’re all members of Don’t Get Mad, a secret society that anonymously takes revenge on the school’s bullies, mean girls, and tyrannical teachers.

When their latest target ends up dead with a blood-soaked “DGM” card in his hands, the girls realize that they’re not as anonymous as they thought—and that someone now wants revenge on them. Soon the clues are piling up, the police are closing in . . . and everyone has something to lose.

 

My Review: I don’t think this book is Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars. I think it’s more Heist Society meets Pretty Little Liars. The members of the secret society in question function like a team. The group isn’t about secret handshakes and holding secrets over each others heads. In fact the members of DGM don’t find out each others secrets until the end of the book. In case you’re wondering the secrets are big.

Each member has a particular skill set. Bree breaks into places and uses her bad attitude to their advantage. Olivia is the actress. Margot is the hacker. And then we have Kitty, who happens to be the ringleader. DGM was her creation and she spends the book conflicted about it. This book isn’t about the rise of DGM. It’s about the fall of it.

My only issue with this book was that the end felt less like an end and more like the book just kind of stops. I flipped back and forth on my e reader but I was out of pages. It ends at a really traumatic point. Maybe I was supposed to feel like the assembly where Kitty intends to give herself up was the big intense scene. I can’t say that I did because the whole book is made up of glorious moments like that. There were just too many loose ends.

Luckily for all of you who haven’t read it yet, number two “Get Dirty” is out now. I was dying to know how it ends. I will only say that Get Dirty doesn’t have the problem that Get Even had. There is a spectacular ending. True fourth of July stuff. I hope there are more. I love these characters.

lynn signaturepicsart_1375992730999QC-13_round

 

 

 

 

I’m giving this Questionable Content only because it deals with issues like those in Pretty Little Liars. So bullying, language things like that.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Background Image: American High School by dspskk0

 

 

Leave a comment