Death and the Girl Next Door by Darynda Jones

Death and the Girl Next Door by Darynda Jones

 

DATGNDBook Description:

Ten years ago, Lorelei’s parents disappeared without a trace.  Raised by her grandparents and leaning on the support of her best friends, Lorelei is finally beginning to accept the fact that her parents are never coming home.  For Lorelei, life goes on.

High school is not quite as painful as she thinks it will be, and things are as normal as they can be.  Until the day the school’s designated loner, Cameron Lusk, begins to stalk her, turning up where she least expects it,  standing outside her house in the dark, night after night.  Things get even more complicated when a new guy—terrifying, tough, sexy Jared Kovach—comes to school.  Cameron and Jared instantly despise each other and Lorelei seems to be the reason for their animosity.  What does Jared know about her parents?  Why does Cameron tell Jared he can’t have Lorelei?  And what will any of them do when Death comes knocking for real?  Thrilling, sassy, sexy, and inventive, Darynda Jones’s first foray into the world of teens will leave readers eager for the next installment.

 

My Review: I have recently been going through my e-reader searching for all of the books that I had cast aside in favor of the bright shiny new ones. I honestly feel guilty when that happens. So I’ve been on a mission to revive some of the books that I threw over. I have no idea when I obtained Death and the Girl Next Door but this is one of those books that I wish I had read when I bought it.

I really enjoyed this book. I’ll be honest and tell you that it was supposed to be an audiobook review. The amazingly gifted Lorelei King narrates the book but I couldn’t do it. I love the Stephanie Plum series and I’ve listened to them over and over again. For me Lorelei King is Stephanie Plum. Heaven help me if she ever stops narrating them. It turns out that my unwavering belief that Lorelei King is Stephanie Plum is a double edge sword. I got three minutes in and I was trying to place voices to the characters in the Plum series. I couldn’t handle it. If you’re not a fan of the Plum audiobooks, well, I’m sorry for wasting a paragraph wining. You’ll love the audiobook.

For some reason I never get tired of these books where Death is an actual character. Every author has their own take on Death and I really loved this one. Death in this book does a very nice job of straddling the line between ancient being and sixteen year old high school student. It was very clever.

Lorelei is a great character. She’s smart, loyal, and feisty. And I have to say that when she goes off the deep end over a certain boy it isn’t because he’s left her. It’s because she feels like she betrayed him. I can deal with a main character staying in their bedroom for a week if there is legitimate thinking, questioning, and revelations involved.

This story has some great secondary characters in it too. Lorelei has two sidekicks that she’s known forever and they help add lighter moments to the story. There is a scene involving grandma’s ashes that I will never forget. It was inspired.

These stories usually involve a love triangle but this one does not. At least not yet. I was convinced that Cameron would be mixed up in things in the usual way. He isn’t. Poor Cameron is just as complicated a character as Lorelei and Jared. He has a lot of baggage and it’s very heavy.

I wasn’t looking to get into another series but I don’t know if I will be able to stop. I wasn’t expecting much out of this book and I was blown away. There are two more at the moment but the set up in this first book indicates that the series has legs so I can’t wait to read more.

lynn signaturePicsArt_1375992687897PGS_round

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Background Image:Dark by ctgvs

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

