Ichabod Brooks and the City of Beasts by Charles E. Yallowitz

Ichabod Brooks and the City of Beasts by Charles E. Yallowitz

 

IBATCOBBook Description: In a time of heroes, a man will take any job to provide for his family.

Ichabod Brooks has earned a reputation for taking the jobs most men and women fear to challenge. This reputation has brought him to the charred remains of a small village nestled within the hills and forest of Ralian. The ruins are a source of strange monsters that terrorize the countryside and repeatedly elude the local guards and hunters. The few brave souls who have entered the creatures’ lair have yet to come out alive or dead.

The chances of survival are slim, but that generous payment is too much for Ichabod to resist. After all, a man and his family have to eat.

 

My Review: I really enjoyed this story. It was a great adventure and I can’t decide if it was the characters or the City of Beasts that were more fun.

The story starts out with a list of rules posted on the main character’s property. FYI, he’s the guy you call when you have a really hard job that needs to be done. We find out that Ichabod Books is an upfront kind of guy. He makes it clear that if you want to hire him you have to follow his rules. I, personally, wouldn’t want to be the person who doesn’t follow his rules. He’s smart and brave; everything we look for in a hero. He also gets himself into serious trouble in this story.

The lighter moments come when someone talks about the stories that they have heard about Ichabod. Bards appear to be the bane of Ichabod’s existence. He curses them each and every time someone is wrong about him. I guess bards are this worlds tabloids.

This story manages to be adventurous and gory without being graphic. There are plenty of beasts that are slain and people who die but oddly it isn’t violent. I think the authors decision not to be overly detailed worked well. Some authors would have gone to town with the blood. There is just enough description to get the point across but not enough to make you put down your lunch.

I only have one single issue with this story. It’s told in present tense. I think that stories told in present tense should come with a warning label. I believe that I have ranted on this topic before and will no doubt rant about it again sometime. Present tense distracts me.  It’s a personal preference and I’m not going to hold it against the story. That’s my only complaint. This story is well done and I look forward to reading more about Ichabod’s adventures and I really hope Morgan goes with him. I won’t spoil Morgan for anyone but I think she may be one of my favorite characters ever.

temp (8)PicsArt_1375992730999PGS_round

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Background Image: Forest Fire by Ylvers

9 thoughts on “Ichabod Brooks and the City of Beasts by Charles E. Yallowitz

  1. Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed the story. Not really sure what to say about the present tense thing. After using it for the last 15 years, I tend to forget it can be an issue.

  2. I remember the present tense distracting me a bit when reading Charles’ first book. Then, I experimented with using it myself, in my short stories. I think it lends immediacy, at least with short works.

    1. Present tense kept me from reading The Hunger Games. I just couldn’t get past the second page. That’s how much I enjoyed this story. I had to know what happened to Ichabod and Morgan. My fellow blogger Jessica loved The Hunger Games. She thinks Charles Yallowitz is a wizard because he got me to read a whole story in present tens.

Leave a Reply

