Crime Wave by Rose Pressey

Crime Wave by Rose Pressey

 

41OyKGbxrIL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Book Description:   Maggie Thomas doesn’t know the first thing about being a private eye. She quickly discovers that running her uncle’s faltering Miami Beach P.I. agency is nothing like watching detective show reruns. Even the private eye app on her iPhone can’t help.

But Maggie’s first case is surprisingly easy…or so she thinks until she stumbles upon a dead body. With whizzing bullets, car chases, and spandex-clad bodybuilders, Maggie wonders if she’s in over her head. Jake Jackson, the dangerously charming cop, thinks Maggie needs to stick to snapping pictures of cheating husbands and leave the detective work to the professionals.

The danger escalates when another homicide victim washes up on the shore and now someone wants to stop Maggie from solving the murders. With the help of her knitting needle–wielding, orthopedic shoe–wearing assistant Dorothy Raye, Maggie must solve the case before she’s the next victim of this crime wave.

 

My Review: Alright. I will admit that I wasn’t sold on this book when I started it.  Believe it or not I was caught unaware that this was a cozy mystery. Don’t get me wrong there is nothing wrong with a cozy mystery. I like them. I just like to be prepared for them.

My favorite character in this book was Dorothy. I really enjoy characters with plenty of pluck. Dorothy was fantastic. I want to be Dorothy when I’m elderly. She is a peppermint popping, crossword puzzle solving, knitting needle toting, woman who doesn’t take any sass from anyone.

What didn’t I like? Jake Jackson. He’s the cop/ love interest in this story. He was too perfect. And just when I thought he was about to get interesting I realized that I had completely misread the situation. There is a point when Jake and the killer are struggling and Maggie bounds in to save the day. I thought for sure Jake was going to turn out to be dirty and in on the murders with the killer but no such luck. Sadly the most interesting thing about Jake is that his fellow law enforcement officers make fun of him because he had to be saved by a P.I.. If you are interested in a cozy that does the cop/love interest right try Juliet Blackwell’s  A Witchcraft Mystery series.

Dorothy saved this story for me. I wanted to know the next funny thing she would say or what she would get herself into so I kept reading. As for the mystery itself? If you read mysteries then you will know who the killer is right away. The attraction of this book isn’t the mystery. It’s what Maggie and Dorothy get themselves into that makes this story fun to read. The golf cart scene is really funny and shouldn’t be missed by anyone who enjoys a cozy.

If you are a romantic comedy fan then you’ll love this book. If you like peppermint popping, sassy sidekicks then you will love this book. If you’re looking for a good mystery that you can’t tear your eyes from then you will probably be disappointed. However, if you like a fun story with a main character who has to deal the hand she’s been dealt, then this is the story for you.

lynn signaturePGS_round

 

There are several murders.

 

PicsArt_1375992687897

 

I’m rounding up. I would really rate this a 3.5 but I really liked Dorothy.

 

 

 

 

Original Background Image: Day At The Beach by Paul Brennan little paul from PublicDomainPictures.net

Leave a Reply

