Grave Sight by Charlaine Harris

Grave Sight (Harper Connelly Mysteries, Book One) by Charlaine Harris 

GraveSight_coverBook Description: Harper Connelly has what you might call a strange job: she finds dead people. She can sense the final location of a person who’s passed, and share their very last moment. The way Harper sees it, she’s providing a service to the dead while bringing some closure to the living – but she’s used to most people treating her like a blood-sucking leech. Traveling with her step-brother Tolliver as manager and sometime-bodyguard, she’s become an expert at getting in, getting paid, and getting out fast. Because for the living it’s always urgent – even if the dead can wait forever.

 

My Review: I enjoyed this book. It was just the right amount of creepy with the right amount of mystery. Harper isn’t physic exactly. She can just find the bodies of the missing and feel what their last moment were like. I was more interested because she didn’t know everything. There was a true element of mystery. It was still exciting though. My favorite scenes in the book were when Harper would go to the cemetery and test herself. She would say the name and how they died then check the headstone. Talk about unique situations.

I found Harper and Tolliver to be a nice complement to one another. They obviously have a co-dependant relationship but they have good reason. Harper and Tolliver became brother and sister in their teens when their parents married and they remembered life before their parents spun out of control. They looked out for each other from day one. That kind of trama can create a bond. In Harper and Tolliver’s case I think the bond is really strong.

I haven’t read the rest of the books yet but I think that there may be romantic feelings at some point. Both of them exhibit some jealous feelings when they are with other people and I think Tolliver is far too interested in taking care of her. If you really love someone you consider a sibling you would try to make them stronger. You would attempt to have them stand on their own two feet and not lean so heavily on you. Tolliver makes no such attempts. His self worth is directly related to how much Harper needs him. I think it’s worth noting that technically they are no longer related in any way. Harper’s mother is dead long before this story begins.

I really liked Harper. She was very normal for someone who got hit by lightening when they were a teen and began feeling where bodies were buried. She is a person who has learned to fear the world. She’s treated like a leper almost everywhere she goes. Another reason she’s so attached to Tolliver. What I liked most about her was that she was so human. This was the Charlaine Harris series that they should have made into a television show.

I can honestly say that I didn’t see the end coming. I didn’t realize who the killer was and I should have known. I should have seen it. I usually do and I’m very surprised that I didn’t. I blame the ease with which Charlaine Harris writes. She dazzled me and I didn’t see it coming. This book was published in 2006 but you wouldn’t know it. The technology is very generalized so you won’t be distracted by flip phones or anything like that. You can concentrate on the story. I really liked it. It was a fun mystery and I can’t wait to read the next one.

temp (8)

QC-13_round

 

There is some language and adult situations.

PicsArt_1375992687897

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Original Background Image: Forest by George Hodan from PublicDomainPictures.net

 

One thought on “Grave Sight by Charlaine Harris

Leave a Reply

