My True Love Gave To Me

Short_story_bannerMy True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories

Edited by Stephanie Perkins

MTLGTM_coverBook Description: If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers (Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de La Peña, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Rainbow Rowell, Stephanie Perkins, Laini Tayler and Kiersten White), edited by the international bestselling Stephanie Perkins.  Whether you celebrate Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or Kwanzaa, there’s something here for everyone.  So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy.  You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

 

My Review: What they say in the book description is completely true. If you love holiday movies you will love this anthology. And if ever there was a story ready to be made into a Hallmark movie Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter is it.

Disclaimer: I love Ally Carter’s work. As in ALL of it. I was so sad when she wrote the last Gallagher Girls book that I still haven’t read it. I bought it when it came out and I put it on the bookcase next to my bed. (Yes I have bookcases instead of night stands. Don’t judge me.) If I don’t read it then the series will never be over right? If you are ever looking for a good heist book try her Heist Society series. They never disappoint and you will love Kat and Hale I promise.

Back to the review: Since I read Star of Bethlehem first I’m going to focus on that story. All of the stories are fantastic though and definitely worth reading. Don’t do what I did and get overly excited in the middle of Target and start looking only for Ally Carter and Holly Black’s stories. Holly Black, whose Doll Bones won a Newberry this year, has a great story too- Krampuslauf. (It was the second one I read). Holly Black is my kind of weird.

Star of Bethlehem focuses on a girl that wants to get away. Away from herself and her whole life. We don’t even get to know her name for most of the story. She trades airplane tickets with a total stranger who also wants to get away. That’s all I can tell you about the story without spoiling it. For me the story was about having faith. Faith in other people and faith in yourself.

If you’re not in the holiday spirit when you finish this story then nothing will ever put you in the holiday spirit (and, you should probably know, you probably don’t have a soul).  Even I was teary by the end of it. Me, who steadfastly believes that the holidays should consist of Santa and zombies. You’ll love it. I did.

lynn signature

PicsArt_1375992730999

 

 

 

 

 

 

QC-13_round

 

This book features complicated themes suitable for teens.

 

 

 

 

Original Background Image: My Yard In Winter (2) by Claudette Gallant from PublicDomainPictures.net

Leave a Reply

