Deadly Curiosities by Gail Z. Martin

Deadly Curiosities by Gail Z. Martin

 

Deadly CuriositiesBook Description: Cassidy Kincaide owns Trifles & Folly, an antique/curio store and high-end pawn shop in Charleston, South Carolina that is more than what it seems. Dangerous magical and supernatural items sometimes find their way into mortal hands or onto the market, and Cassidy is part of a shadowy Alliance of mortals and mages whose job it is to take those deadly curiosities out of circulation.

Welcome to Trifles & Folly, an antique and curio shop with a dark secret. Proprietor Cassidy Kincaide continues a family tradition begun in 1670—acquiring and neutralizing dangerous supernatural items. It’s the perfect job for Cassidy, whose psychic gift lets her touch an object and know its history. Together with her business partner Sorren, a 500 year-old vampire and former jewel thief, Cassidy makes it her business to get infernal objects off the market. When mundane antiques suddenly become magically malicious, it’s time for Cassidy and Sorren to get rid of these Deadly Curiosities before the bodies start piling up.

 

My Review: My favorite thing about this book wasn’t the plot (which I loved) or the characters (which I adore). My favorite thing was the history. This book takes great care when describing Charleston and its history. It takes its time setting the scene. There is a scene in the book when a character is showing Cassidy around a building and Cassidy is describing what she has seen. In my humble opinion it takes a certain amount of skill to pull that off and not make it boring. That’s why Gail Z. Martin is one of my favorite authors ever. She keeps you thinking even when she’s talking about lamps. You can’t help but think that anything could happen.

Another great aspect of this book is all of the stories that go along with the objects that are in the story. Are they based on real stories? I have no idea but they’re details that make this book.  Cassidy’s visions of the past are a whole different matter. Her visions are whole stories within stories. She lives her visions so we get to live them too. I also thought it was nice that Cassidy gave us a cameo of Alard the vampire that created Sorren. We met Alard in the first story in this series Vanities.

I really don’t think that you need to have read all the short stories that came before it. That doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t or that you won’t want to after you read this book. Be prepared to want to read those stories. It will, however, make this book even more enjoyable. I miss Dietger and Alard.

I’ve written enough reviews of this series that I don’t have to tell you what I think about the characters. I don’t think that I’ve given any of the stories in this series anything less than five stars. Sorren has always been my favorite but now I think it’s a tie between Sorren and Cassidy. I like how they interact and how Cassidy feels for Sorren. She recognizes that he looses everyone in the end to either a natural or violent death. Part of me has to think perhaps she’s worried that she’ll lose him at some point. Part of what I like about Cassidy is that her friends are her family.

This is such a great adventure story. I’m really into adventure right now. I really enjoyed it and if you go to Gail Z. Martin‘s site you can see that there is more adventure to come. I’m so excited.

lynn signature

 

 

PicsArt_1375992730999

 

 

 

PGS_round

 

 

 

 

 

 

Try these other books by Gail Z. Martin:

17315594wildThe-Final-Death-220x352

 

 

 

 

 

Original background image: Iron Gate by Tom Genovese from PublicDomainPictures.net

 

 

One thought on “Deadly Curiosities by Gail Z. Martin

Leave a Reply

