The Scriptlings by Sorin Suciu

The Scriptlings by Sorin Suciu

 

the scriptlingBook Description:   The Scriptlings is the unlikely, yet strangely charismatic lovechild you would expect if Magic and Science were to have one too many drinks during a stand-up comedy show in Vegas.
In short, it follows the story of Merkin and Buggeroff, two magician apprentices in a world where magicians are capitalists, computers are quasi-magical, and goats are sometimes invisible – all under the watchful eye of a wandering tribe of monosyllabic demigods.

 

*This book was sent to us to by the author/ publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

My Review: This book isn’t normally something that I would read.  It says it’s heavily influenced by Terry Pratchett right in the book description. It isn’t that I don’t like Terry Pratchett so save your hate mail. His books are just written for people far more intelligent than I am. I am always lost when I try to read his work. Each chapter feels like a whole new story. I decided to give Sorin Suciu’s book a try because the description said it was funny. It was funny but it still had that Terry Pratchett feel to it. So I am going to review this story on its technical merits because I don’t think it’s fair for me to review it otherwise. I say it right here. If you love Terry Pratchett you’ll love this book.

This book is very well written. Each chapter flows and it tells a great story. I read a lot of articles on how to improve my “blogging”. They always say to stick to the topic and for goodness sake keep it short. What I completely loved about this book was that the author didn’t keep it short. I guess that’s the point of writing a book right? The sentences are colorful and draw you in. They lent a bit of beauty to the crazy story and even crazier characters.

Merkin is a spunky apprentice with so much sarcasm that it practically leaked out of my e reader. Sorin Suciu has crafted some memorable characters that I will always think about when answering my front door. I’m not going to compromise any of the jokes but what would you do if you had magical powers and someone annoying showed up on your doorstep? I know what I would do. Exactly what Master Dung did. You’ll have to read the book to find out.

All in all this book had more to offer me than the books I’ve tried to read by Terry Pratchett. This book was funny all the way through and that kept me reading. If Pratchett’s books were like this one I wouldn’t feel like such a failure. I would finally finish a Pratchett novel and be able to cross it off my bucket list.

lynn signature

 

PicsArt_1375992687897

 

 

 

 

Original background image: Church Door by Patrick Garrington from PublicDomainPictures.net

Font: Ghost Theory by Fonts Bomb from Dafont.com

Leave a Reply

