Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Alice In Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Alice In Zombieland cover

Book DescriptionShe won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real.

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies.

 

nature2halloween14My Review: Part of the reason why I like Alice in Wonderland so much is that it is magical. I enjoy that so many authors have found inspiration in it. I love to see how different authors interpret this fairy tale. I find it endlessly fascinating. That’s why I keep reading them. That’s why I will continue to read them. Alice In Zombieland is a great example.

I really enjoyed this book. It was fun to see how all of the characters manifested. All of the usual suspects are present. Alice is obvious, as is Kat, but my favorite was the white rabbit. The Mad Hatter is there in a really fun way. So is the Queen. These are my own observations. I could be completely wrong but, like Kat, I’m not.

My favorite character by far was Kat. She is vivacious and very funny. She would make the perfect best friend. That is a good thing since she is Alice’s best friend. Kat is in love with Frosty and Frosty is in love with Kat. These are the two characters that I was rooting for.  It is unfortunate that Frosty is a slayer and couldn’t tell Kat about being a slayer or the zombies. Kat spends most of the story completely in the dark about the zombies. Sadly it means that she spends most of the story believing that people are lying to her. It’s a good thing that I believe in true love for fairy tale characters.

I really liked Alice too. She is a strong female character to be proud of. She holds her own with the zombies and the slayers. She takes quite the journey in this story and I’ll be interested to see where she ends up by the end of the series. Her relationship with Cole is intense. They have very intense visions and an intense physical attraction. That’s all I’ll say about.

The zombies in this story are mindless but they are organized. I really like the mythology with the bloodlines. I also liked that the zombies weren’t the only thing the slayers had to worry about. There is a corporation that has it’s own plans for the zombies. I thought that was inventive and different.

This is where I ran into a problem. Why don’t the slayers have body armor? If the zombies bite why do the slayers use the antivenin stuff and not take preventative measures such as body armor? That didn’t make sense to me. I’m willing to let it go though. The mythology was enough to keep me entertained even though Cole was very stingy handing out information to Alice.

All in all I liked this book and I can’t wait to read the next one. So if you still have this one in your e reader pull it out for Halloween you won’t be sorry.

temp (8)

 

 

QC-13_round

 

Things between Alice and Cole are intense.

PicsArt_1375992687897

 

 

 

 

 

Try these other books:

AliceUndeadland

 

Immortal_rules_coverThe_Keys_feat_img

 

 

 

 

 

 

Background image: Woods by David Wagner from PublicDomainPictures.net

 

Leave a Reply

