Modest Musings

Welcome to Modest Musings!

This is were we tell you about the books we have acquired this week.  Whether it is through purchases, NetGalley or one of our many book list emails.  Please feel free to tell us what you think and if there is a particular book you are interested in seeing us review.  We hope you enjoy what we found this week!

Jessica’s Musings

18810282Blur by Steven James – The isolated town of Beldon, Wisconsin, is shocked when a high school freshman’s body is found in Lake Algonquin. Just like everyone in the community, sixteen-year-old Daniel Byers believes that Emily Jackson’s death was accidental. But at her funeral, when he has a terrifying vision of her, his world begins to rip apart at the seams.

Convinced that Emily’s appearance was more than just a mere hallucination, Daniel begins to look carefully into her death, even as he increasingly loses the ability to distinguish fantasy from reality.

What’s real? What’s not? Where does reality end and madness begin?

As Daniel struggles to find the truth, his world begins to crumble around him as he slips further and further into his own private blurred reality.

21417381

As Red as Blood by Salla Simukka – In the midst of the freezing Arctic winter, seventeen-year-old Lumikki Andersson walks into her school’s dark room and finds a stash of wet, crimson-colored money. Thousands of Euros left to dry—splattered with someone’s blood.

Lumikki lives alone in a studio apartment far from her parents and the past she left behind. She transferred into a prestigious art school, and she’s singularly focused on studying and graduating. Lumikki ignores the cliques, the gossip, and the parties held by the school’s most popular and beautiful boys and girls.

But finding the blood-stained money changes everything. Suddenly, Lumikki is swept into a whirlpool of events as she finds herself helping to trace the origins of the money. Events turn even more deadly when evidence points to dirty cops and a notorious drug kingpin best known for the brutality with which he runs his business.

As Lumikki loses control of her carefully constructed world, she discovers that she’s been blind to the forces swirling around her—and she’s running out of time to set them right. When she sees the stark red of blood on snow, it may be too late to save her friends or herself.

6491148Timberwolf A Spooky Short Story by Carol Hanrahan – t’s the full moon, and our werewolf has been invited to dinner with the local vicar by his widowed neighbor. A home-cooked meal for this bachelor sounds pretty good. He’s starting to get very hungry….

116432

Blackbriar by William Sleator – Danny can feel something sinister about his new home, Blackbriar, an old, abandoned cottage in the English countryside. The residents of a nearby town refuse to speak of the house and can barely look Danny in the eyes. Then Danny begins to have strange dreams of fire and witches, and awakes to shrieks of laughter that seem to come from another time and place. With help from his friend, Lark, Danny begins to unravel the mysteries of Blackbriar and its frightening past, through the discovery of an ancient doll and a chilling list of names and dates carved on the cellar door. But what might be most terrifying of all is the mystery that does not lie in the past but in the here and now…

Lynn’s Musings

downloadThe Second Girl Detective Megapack – The Second Girl Detective Megapack collects 23 more novels with girl protagonists, sleuthing for fun and justice. Here are series from Julia K. Duncan, Roy J. Snell, Dorothy Wayne, Helen Randolph, and more — nearly 3,000 pages of great girl-powered adventure!

22667759

The Carolyn Wells Mystery Megapack – Carolyn Wells was an American author of mysteries, verse, humor, and children’s books. In 1910 she decided to devote herself to mysteries and became an early master of the genre, creating two memorable sleuths: Pennington Wise and Fleming Stone. Earlier in her career, she penned two humorous stories featuring Sherlock Holmes and a plethora of other great detectives, both of which are included here.

20573174Female Sleuths The Victorians Megapack – Before Sherlock Holmes there were three female sleuths who solved crimes on either side of the Atlantic: Lady Molly of Scotland Yard, Loveday Brooke and Amelia Butterworth. Every single work featuring these three pioneering crime-busters is collected here – Lady Molly: The Complete Collection by Baroness Orczy, The Loveday Brooke series of detective novels by C. L. Pirkis and The Amelia Butterworth trilogy by Anna Katharine Greene – 21 novellas total.

Lady Molly of Scotland Yard – 12 Titles featuring the intrepid sleuth of Inverness, Scotland.

The Ninescore Mystery, The Frewin Miniatures, The Irish Tweed Coat, The Fordwych Castle Mystery, A Day’s Folly, A Castle In Brittany, A Christmas Tragedy, The Bag of Sand, The Man in the Inverness Cape, The Woman in the Big Hat, Sir Jeremiah’s Will and The End

Loveday Brooke – The popular female detective appeared in six stories in Ludgate Magazine in the 1890s. All six mysteries are included here:

THE BLACK BAG LEFT ON A DOOR-STEP, THE REDHILL SISTERHOOD, A PRINCESS’S VENGEANCE, DRAWN DAGGERS, THE GHOST OF FOUNTAIN LANE and MISSING!

The Amelia Butterworth trilogy by Anna Katharine Greene

That Affair Next Door
Lost Man’s Lane
The Circular Study

*Over 1,000 pages total!

*Each book stunningly illustrated with original art reformatted for the Kindle.
*Includes original essays and author biographies.

22041835

Synchronic 13 Tales of Time Travel -Synchronic: 13 Tales of Time Travel introduces 13 varied and original takes on the pitfalls and paradoxes of time travel—from some of today’s most talented voices.

From Michael Bunker’s story of a father, a son, and the legendary Santa Anna Gold, to Jason Gurley’s heart-wrenching tale of an astronaut forever torn from his young wife and daughter, these stories will keep you on the edge of your seat, and often have you guessing right up until the final word.

You’ll meet a prison therapist who treats his patients by going back and preventing their crimes; a woman who can’t stop reliving her life, no matter how much it hurts; a space marine suffering from a time-altering brain injury; a woman who will betray the man she loves to correct a horrible mistake; a vengeful soul from ages past; and a time cop charged with preserving the timelines of multiple universes.

You’ll experience a world where time travel is so common, reality itself hangs by a thread; a love story that overcomes the unforgiving barriers of time; a thrilling encounter with a pack of T. rex; a historian’s efforts to alter Roman history; and the first manned mission to the Red Planet—or is it?

So sit back and enjoy. Just be sure you’ve got plenty of time.

20680865Murder at Ashgrove House by Margaret Addison – The first book in the Rose Simpson mysteries.
When Sir William and Lady Withers invite friends and family to a weekend house party at their country home, Ashgrove House, they are faced with the arrival of both invited and uninvited guests, the consequence of which is murder. Set in 1930, “Murder at Ashgrove House” is full of intrigue, clues and red herrings, with nearly everyone having a motive for wishing the victim dead. This is a classic country house murder mystery set during the golden age of crime and will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey, alike.

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s