Audiobook Review: The Cursed by Heather Graham

The Cursed by Heather Graham

Narrator: Luke Daniels

Length: 8 hours 55 minutes

Version: Unabridged

Published by: Brilliance Audio

 

Cursed by HGBook Description:  Hannah O’Brien, who grew up in the house and now runs it as a B and B, has always had a special ability to see a pair of resident ghosts. But when a man is murdered in the alley behind her place, she’s dismayed when his spirit appears, too, asking for help.

FBI agent Dallas Samson has a passionate interest in the murder, since the victim’s a colleague whose death is connected to the smuggling ring known as Los Lobos—the wolves. Now Dallas is even more committed to chasing them down….

Unaware that Dallas has certain abilities of his own, Hannah calls her cousin Kelsey O’Brien, a member of the FBI’s Krewe of Hunters, an elite unit of paranormal investigators. The present-day case is linked to a historical mystery involving salvagers, a curse and a sunken ship. Danger and desire bring Hannah and Dallas together, but to survive, they have to solve the mysteries of the past—and stay alive long enough to solve the crimes of the present!

 

My Review:  Luke Daniels is pretty much my favorite narrator.  He’s narrated a ton of books and is completely fantastic.  He has a wide range of character voices and makes use of them.  So the fact that I got to the very end of this book and had the intense urge to scream WHAT at the top of my lungs isn’t the narrators fault.

This book had me until the end.  Really.  The epilogue was what killed this story for me.  I love history and this book has plenty.  Key West history is some of the most colorful you will ever hear about.  Key West is also known for its ghosts.  Honest.  The stories that Hannah tells on her tour are true.  I’ve read about them.   I love ghost stories that are rooted in history.

I loved how this book worked around the history and legends of Key West.  What I didn’t love about this book was the love.   I get it, extreme situations and all of that but the story lost me when in the epilogue she is offered a job with the Krewe of Hunters and she says she needs to think about it.  That was fair enough.  She loves her bed and breakfast.  She repeatedly puts her life and the lives of the people around her in danger because she insists on continuing her ghost tours while a murderer is on the loose.  Her business is that important to her.   This mostly level headed character is a responsible business woman running not only a successful B&B but the best ghost tour in the city.  Her tours sell out every night.  So after knowing all that I’m supposed to buy the fact that she is so in love with a guy that she’s known for three days that she would let the woman that helps her clean up after guests run the B&B while she moves to who knows where with Dallas?  Without a reason.  Just follow Dallas because she loves him so much?  I’m supposed to accept that?  Just like that in the epilogue?  I was completely disappointed.   She loved the B&B.  She fought for the B&B.

If she had accepted the job none of this would be an issue for me.  I just don’t understand the decision to make her chase after Dallas.  If she had accepted the job to help the spirits that the Krewe of Hunters came into contact with then I could have accepted that she would be willing to leave the B&B.  I felt like  a gutted fish.  This one little epilogue changed this whole story for me.

I understand that Heather Graham has a formula that works.  She’s like Nora Roberts and Janet Evanovitch we read them because we know what we are getting and we love them for it.   I just wish that the love story hadn’t over shadowed the character of the characters.  This won’t stop me from buying her next book.  I’ve come to see the value of these romantic suspense stories.  They are the perfect vehicle for fun ghost stories.  I’ll keep reading them as long as she keeps writing them.

temp (8)

 

 

 

 

 

 

PicsArt_1375992631838R- There is enough sex and death that you don’t want to listen to this in mixed company, and by that I mean it is not suitable for children.

 

 

 

 

Try these other books:

The Night Is Watching15096138The-Firebird

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Background feature image: Foggy Day by Dogbono from freeimages.com

One thought on “Audiobook Review: The Cursed by Heather Graham

Leave a Reply

