Sea of Secrets by Amanda Dewees

Sea of Secrets by Amanda Dewees

13559164

Book Description:  Can I save him from the darkness in his soul–or will it destroy us both?
My name is Oriel Pembroke–or was, until my father disowned me. Although he had always despised me, it was not until my beloved brother was killed in the Crimean War that Father cast me out. I had nowhere to turn until I met the former Duchess of Ellsworth, a relative whose existence I had never guessed, who recently scandalized society by remarrying soon after her first husband’s death. At her opulent seaside estate, Ellsmere, I think at first that I may have found a safe haven–but the handsome, fascinating young duke, Herron, believes otherwise. Haunted by the death of his father, he insists that Ellsmere is sheltering a murderer.

I cannot help but fall in love with the duke, but increasingly I fear that his grief and suspicion may be turning to madness. When dangerous accidents start to befall both of us, however, I realize that someone may be trying to stop us from discovering the truth about the past. And when someone from my past comes back into my life, I learn that he may hold the answer to the most horrifying secret of all…

 

My Review:  The book says it’s a retelling of Hamlet but I think this book is part Hamlet and part Jane Eyre.  Amanda Dewees mixes the two easily and the result is astounding.  This review is going to be really short so that I don’t spoil the book for anyone.

It is beautifully written.  There is a moderate cast of characters.  I would say it’s more Jane Eyre and less Hamlet( I don’t know about you but I have to refer to who is who when I read Hamlet because there are so many characters involved).  Like Hamlet, however, the relationships are complicated.  Also like Hamlet the crazy goes on for a beat too long which tells me this author knows her Hamlet inside and out if she was willing to stick to it.  What I mean by a beat to long is that we’re pretty sure that Hamlet is mad from the beginning.  In this book we know that Herron is mad because he exhibits Hamlet’s characteristics.  We also know he’s mad because Amanda Dewees, like the bard, wanted us to have that extra moment of is he really crazy?  Could he be sane?  Is Hamlet toying with everyone?

There are also parallels between Ophelia and Oriel.  There is a great scene towards the end of the book where Oriel is floating in the water.  It’s a great scene.

The author explains her crush on Hamlet in an afterword.  I will admit that I haven’t read this yet because I didn’t want it to influence my review.  There are also discussion questions at the end of the book.  I didn’t look at these either so that they wouldn’t influence me.

I have to say that I think there may be a smattering of Georgette Heyer or Jane Austen in there also.   I wasn’t sure about Charles.  There were points where I thought he held some responsibility in the mystery and then there were time I didn’t.  What it comes down to is that this is a great gothic novel.  It even has a great ending.  I wish all of the gothic novels ended like this one.

See Jessica.  I don’t hate romance.  I just like mine with crashing waves and a bit of murder.

temp (8)

 

 

 

 

 

PicsArt_1375992730999PG-  Did I mention there was murder and madness.

One thought on “Sea of Secrets by Amanda Dewees

Leave a Reply

