Second Star by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

18465577Second Star

by: Alyssa B. Sheinmel

Book Blurb:

A twisty story about love, loss, and lies, this contemporary oceanside adventure is tinged with a touch of dark magic as it follows seventeen-year-old Wendy Darling on a search for her missing surfer brothers. Wendy’s journey leads her to a mysterious hidden cove inhabited by a tribe of young renegade surfers, most of them runaways like her brothers. Wendy is instantly drawn to the cove’s charismatic leader, Pete, but her search also points her toward Pete’s nemesis, the drug-dealing Jas. Enigmatic, dangerous, and handsome, Jas pulls Wendy in even as she’s falling hard for Pete. A radical reinvention of a classic, Second Star is an irresistible summer romance about two young men who have yet to grow up–and the troubled beauty trapped between them.

 

My Review: 

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

A re-imagining of Peter Pan what could possibly be more fun. This tale took twists and turns and had you second guessing things at almost every corner, and best of all everyone is there.  You have Peter, Wendy, Micheal, John, Tinkerbell, a drug called fairy dust and a bar called the Jolly Roger.  Perhaps the best thing to do is start at the beginning.

Wendy’s brothers John and Micheal are surfers and they have gone missing.  It appears they have been lost to a wave but Wendy is in denial and will just not except this.  So she gathers her things and sets of to find them.  She ends up in a cove where she meets Pete and his “Lost Boys”  runaways who love to surf. There she also meets Belle. Right from the beginning you can tell they are hiding something, but your not sure what. When Wendy finally finds out the true she gets mad and leaves.  In comes Jas.

Jas is the bad boy on the other side of the cove.  He sells the Fairy Dust. Now this is where the story starts to get weird for me. Wendy goes on a pretty bad trip and finally ends up back at home where her parents.  From here there are a bunch of things that happen but if I start to tell you it will give the story away so let me just say that it made me go “WHAT?!!”

There were times in the story that I just wanted to shout at Wendy and tell her open your eyes.  She seemed very naive.  She should have stood up for herself more and she definitely should have told everyone who lied to her where they could go.

Up until the end of the book I was a solid 4 stars for Second Star, but the ending didn’t make me real happy.  I wouldn’t bring it down to a 3 so I will give it a 3.5 Stars.

PicsArt_1375992631838.5       PG-13 for the drugs

 

 

 

 

About the Author: 

3048234I was born in Stanford, California, and even though I moved across the country to New York when I was six years old, I still think of myself as a California girl.Like so many writers, I grew up loving books. I loved stories so much that when there was nothing to read, I wrote my own stories just to give myself something to read. And when there was no pen and paper to be had, I made up stories and acted them out by myself. I played all the parts, and I was never bored.

 

 

Leave a Reply

