Tattoo Thief by Heidi Joy Tretheway

18463818Tattoo Thief by Heidi Joy Tretheway

Do not be fooled by the cover.  This isn’t just a love story between two people.  This is a story about falling in love with New York city.

Book Summary:

22-year-old Beryl doesn’t know why Gavin Slater trashed his penthouse, abandoned his dog and fled the country. But as his house sitter, she must pick up the pieces for the front man of the white-hot rock band Tattoo Thief.

When Beryl confronts the reckless rock star, she wants to know more than just what to do with his mess. Why is he running? What’s he searching for? And is he responsible for the death of his muse?

New York newbie Beryl must find her footing in Gavin’s crazy world to discover her own direction and what can bring him back.

Steamy, sassy and tender, Tattoo Thief is a story of love, redemption and escaping a comfort zone to find a second chance.

My Review:

This book is the first in a series about a band but you wouldn’t really know it from this book.  They aren’t really introduced until the very end when Gavin has a party to introduce Beryl.  The main characters are not even on the same continent for the first two thirds of the book.  That, however, leaves time for an incredible advertisement for New York city.  Beryl has a rocky start when she shows up in New York but she quickly falls in love it.

I don’t think that I’ve read a book about characters who interact solely through emails and chats before.  It was interesting to see that unfold.  At first Gavin doesn’t know Beryl is a woman.  He thinks she’s a guy named Berry.  They initially exchange email because he’s completely trashed his penthouse and hired Beryl’s uncle’s property management company to fix it.  The company that Beryl moves to NYC for.  They start out talking about the  penthouse but things get personal when Beryl starts actually house sitting for him. Gavin has forgotten about his dog being boarded and he left him there.  Heartless I know.  In what universe does someone forget their dog?  So eventually they start talking about other things and Beryl gets to the heart of Gavin’s problem.

The thing that I didn’t get was that everyone forgave so easily in this book.  Where I come from forgiveness has to be earned.  Beryl’s friend Stella does something that is a complete betrayal of trust and Gavin is all over Beryl to forgive her.  I don’t know about anyone else but no one decides for me who I forgive and no amount of cajoling would sway me.  Something else that bothered me was that when Gavin tells “Berry” to get rid of the clothes in the guest room she doesn’t.  She keeps them for herself.  They’re expensive I get it but they belonged to his dead ex-girlfriend.  Then when he comes home and their relationship has progressed they go out.  He’s goes to meet her somewhere and she wears one of the dresses.  Who does that?  He bolts before she sees him.  I no longer hated him for the dog thing at that point. I felt sorry for him.  Then I felt sorry for Jasper the dog.

All in all I liked how the author painted such a loving picture of NYC.  It is very well written.  Heidi Joy Thretheway has a very fluid way of telling a story and it kept me reading ( it pains me to give it a three but the whole instant forgiveness thing killed it for me.  I don’t even care what was in the envelope).  The author makes you feel like you’ve been to New York.  I would say it’s a love letter to New York in a lot of ways.  I’ve never want to go there before but I do now.  I admit that this isn’t what I read and I’m certain that a lot of the romance was lost on me.  I like my romance Jane Austen style.  I love how YA does it.  I got the book because the summary I read was different than the one above.  It talked of the ultra rich and butlers and that Beryl knew their secrets (the ultra rich’s secrets not the butlers because butlers are cool).  There were not any secrets and we don’t get a butler but we do get a very nice doorman.  One who saves Jasper’s life when he has an allergic reaction and treats Jasper to cheese every time he comes home.  Finally Jasper gets some respect.

temp (8)

 

PicsArt_1375992631838R  Beryl and Gavin are together for the last third of the book.  It isn’t over the top but it’s definitely there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You may also enjoy these reviews:

lovely vicious cover2kiss a girl in the rainClose to you

Leave a Reply

