Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon A. Thompson

Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon A. Thompson

SBS*I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.*

I was so sad when I reached the end of this book.  It wasn’t just that I was sad that the story was over but that the book wouldn’t be out for a couple of weeks.  That day however has come.  It’s here.  Everyone can buy Seconds Before Sunrise and then we can all talk about it.

Book Summary:

Two nightmares. One memory.

“Chaos within destiny. It was the definition of our love.”

Eric has weeks before his final battle when he’s in an accident. Forced to face his human side, he knows he can’t survive if he fights alone. But he doesn’t want to surrender, even if he becomes the sacrifice for war.

Jessica’s memory isn’t the only thing she’s lost. Her desire to find her parents is gone and so is her confidence. But when fate leaves nightmares behind, she decides to find the boy she sees in them, even if it risks her sanity.

My Review:

I was a little reluctant to start this book because I knew what was coming.  I knew it was going to be ugly.  Poor Eric.  It wasn’t enough that he was born the champion of the dark foretold in a prophecy.  Oh no.  He has to deal with the fall out from book one.  (If you haven’t read Minutes Before Sunset then you should go and do that now.  You’re missing out.)  I think he has every right to be as angry and despondent as he is at the beginning of this book.  His already messed up life is even more messed up.

I’m glad that I sucked up my reluctance.  I really enjoyed the book.  Eric is a different character by the end of this one.  Now he knows what he’s fighting for and what he’s willing to risk in the process.  In contrast Jessica gets back to who she was in the first book.  She fearless in book one and watching her be anything less in this one was painful.  They really were painful  to read but I think they should be.  What happened to Jessica during book one spins out of Eric’s control.  She loses an important part of herself and it’s sad to watch her not know why she’s struggling.  We have to witness the fall out from that as unpleasant as it is.  Have I said poor Eric yet?  It’s important because it makes what happens later all the more remarkable.

I’m not sure I’ve read anything before where the final battle isn’t so final.  It goes so off the rails that I wasn’t sure what would happen next.  It was exciting.  Both books full of moments like that.  I found myself having a NO moment, a WHAT moment, several THIS CAN’T BE HAPPENING moments, and an AWWWWW THAT’S SO SWEET moment.  One thing is for sure;  the next book in this series is going to be huge!  I loved every single second.

temp (8)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PicsArt_1375992730999PG  Eric is the chosen. He has his own sword and he knows how to use it

 

 

 

6880615At sixteen, Shannon A Thompson became the young-adult author of “November Snow.” In 2012, Shannon became a published poet. Both of her published works are dedicated to lost loved ones, her mother and her roommate. Her latest novel, “Minutes Before Sunset,” released May 1st by AEC Stellar Publishing. The award-winning, young-adult, paranormal romance is the first novel in A Timely Death series, and the second book is expected to release in March of 2014. Her first short story, Sean’s Bullet, was published in an anthology in October of 2013.
She recently graduated from the University of Kansas with a bachelor’s degree in English. She also works as a Social Media Marketing Manager.
Shannon spends her free time writing, but she loves spending time with her father and brother. She also has one black cat named after her favorite actor, Humphrey Bogart.

Background Image: Sunset lake by geralt

Read our review of Minutes Before Sunrise and our interview with author Shannon A. Thompson:

Cover

 

6 thoughts on “Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon A. Thompson

    1. Thank you for sending it to me. I love this series. I’ve become attached to Eric and Jessica’s story. It was so sad to see him basically helpless where Jessica was concerned. She warned him in the last book so we know it’s coming but that didn’t make it any easier. I wanted someone to give him a hug. 😉

Leave a Reply

