Some Of The Best Short Fiction

   purplecircle_final
     So Jessica’s on vacation until the new year.  That means that I have been left to mind the blog all by my lonesome.  Since I’ve been left to my own devices for the rest of the year I’ve decided to make the last Novella Thursday post of year count.  I want to look back over Novella Thursday and give it its due.  Novella Thursday has come to encompass all manner of short fiction.  We had no idea when we started Novella Thursday that there was a major shortage of novella’s in the world.  We take suggestions by the way so if you have any send us an email by clicking on the contact us tab at the top of the page.
     I’ve read some great short fiction this year.  I’ve had the pleasure of discovering authors that I would most likely never have stumbled upon (Terry W. Ervin II who is on my list to read next year) . I think one of the joys in life is to read a short story and then discover that author has written novels.  I experienced that most recently with Short Fuses by Stephen Leather.  After story number two in the collection he wrote that he always considered the unnamed character to be Spider Shepherd.  I went right to Amazon and downloaded Hard Landing.  If for some reason you haven’t read the stories in Short Fuses yet you’re missing out and shame on you.
     I guess that I fall into the group of people that feel like short fiction doesn’t get the respect that it deserves.  People tend to disregard short fiction and act as if the author put less effort into it.  Short fiction is an art.  When short fiction is done properly it’s beautiful.  I feel the same way about poetry but that’s a post for another time.  For now, enjoy our list of some of the short fiction that we were really excited about this year.
This list isn’t in any order.  We would never rank stories.
  1. The Flash Gold Chronicles by Lindsay Buroker
  2. Short Fuses by Stephen Leather
  3. Shadow Lantern by Gareth Lewis
  4. Haunted Love by Cynthia Leitich Smith
  5. Dark Places (A Gryphonwood Anthology)
  6. Cinderella is Evil by Jamie Campbell
  7. Her Mad Hatter by Marie Hall
  8. The Loneliness of Jacob Rozinski by Julian Lorr
  9. Bah Humbug by Heather Horrocks
  10. Finding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover
One thought on “Some Of The Best Short Fiction

Leave a Reply

