The Night Is Watching by Heather Graham

The Night Is Watching

By Heather Graham

The Night Is WatchingAmazon

Barnes and Noble

Indiebound

There are a lot of books in the Krewe of Hunters series and they are not numbered so I picked one.  I’m not sure that it matters where you start.  These novels are romantic suspense so in all honesty we know that the guy and the girl are going to end up together.  The surprise isn’t in the destination.  It’s in the journey or in this case the body count.

Jane Everett is an artist as well as an FBI agent.  She works with a special group that investigates odd situations.  When her bosses former partner, Sloan Trent, asks if he knows an artist that can do a facial reconstruction he sends the best he has; a member of his very own unit.

A skull is found in the basement of the town’s famous theater and Jane is charged with rebuilding the skull to see who it was.  Everyone’s first choice for who the skull belongs to is Sage McCormick the beautiful actress that disappeared without a trace around the same time a stagecoach full of gold went missing in the late 1800’s.  When new murders occur and old ones are finally discovered Jane and Sherriff Sloan don’t know who to trust.  As more people are hurt Jane and Sloan realize that whoever is looking for the missing gold is willing to do whatever it takes to get it.

I genuinely liked this book.  It had a few problems though.  There is spot more than halfway through where there are a few typos.  I also prefer when characters don’t have similar names.  There is a Jane and a Jennie.  There is also a Jimmy and a Johnny.

I liked the plot.  I love westerns so the missing stagecoach full of gold was great.  I also loved that Sage McCormick was an active character in the story.  She helps Jane and gives her messages.  She even leads Jane to the gold.  The other ghosts were great too but Sage was my favorite.  She was my favorite character in the whole book.  Her fate was just so tragic.  I’m not giving anything away by saying that.  You know she didn’t run off to Mexico the second she appears to Jane.  You know she met a horrible end.

There are a lot of twists and turns and I went from character to character thinking each one was guilty at some point.  I can honestly say that I didn’t see the end coming.  I suspected one of the characters involved but it was the scope of the ending that caught me.  Maybe I wasn’t paying close enough attention to the characters involved.

Even though I liked this book it wasn’t my favorite Heather Graham book.  I loved Ghost Walk.  That book is about a woman who runs a New Orleans ghost tour company.  I highly recommend it.  I also recommend The Night Is Watching.  I didn’t figure out where the gold was and I won’t spoil it for you.  This is a fun and fast mystery that traps you quickly.  It sold me on the Krewe of Hunters series and just as soon as I find out which one came first I’m going to get it.

PicsArt_1375992687897PG-13  It is romantic suspense so there are some adult situations.  There is also murder and mayhem (two of my favorite things leading up to Halloween).

Leave a Reply

