The Ruth Valley Missing

The Ruth Valley MissingThe Ruth Valley Missing
By Amber West
Kindle Price: $2.99

Amazon’s summary:  Jameson Quinn is sick of trying to find herself in the big city. After a gallery opening ends in a trip to the ER and an argument with her self-involved boyfriend, she decides to take off for the peace and quiet of a small town — Ruth Valley.

The small town has everything Brooklyn lacked: simple people, peaceful surroundings, and a feeling of safety. Jameson even finds the perfect house to rent from the town’s most eligible bachelor, Sheriff Jack. Life is finally headed in a promising direction.

But something isn’t right. A young man is mysteriously injured, then disappears — and Jameson finds he isn’t the only person to suddenly vanish. The suspicious behavior of an abrasive nun and a creepy priest set her off on an investigation of what’s really happening. Will she figure out the secrets of Ruth Valley before she’s the next to go missing?

My Review:  Although I found this book predictable. It was  good. It grabbed me right away and I found myself having a hard time putting it down. I did however find my self questioning a lot of what was happening, and the four major plot points I figured out pretty early, which lets be honest kind of kills the suspense. While the story itself did make me cringe on some level.

Jameson is trying to get away from the crazy life of a big city and ends up in the craziest small town you could ever find. James is a strong character and I liked her from the start. She of course takes chances that she shouldn’t, and doesn’t listen to what she is being told.  Isn’t that the way it is in every mystery?!  I did question a little what made her pick Ruth Valley and why she was not working in her chosen field of Psychiatry.  She hits the nail on the head when she calls Father Mike the creepy priest. It made me question him right from the beginning, and with good reason. The whole time I was thinking “please don’t let Jack be involved”, but knowing eventually as the sheriff of this small town and the only male within a certain age range, that he was going to be a part of it somehow. The Nuns were scary and I wondered what was going to happen every time they came around. Being raised in a Catholic family and having been around plenty of Nun, I can honestly say I have never run across any Nun like them.

This was a quick read. If your not one to  easily figure out plot twists you might enjoy it.

Rating: 3

PG-13 due to content I don’t want to reveal, but is defiantly not for the faint of heart.

Leave a Reply

