Novella Thursday: Her Mad Hatter

Her Mad Hatter

Her Mad Hatter

By Marie Hall

Kindle Price: $ .00

Amazon Summary:

Alice is all grown up. Running the Mad Hatter’s Cupcakery and Tea Shoppe is a delicious job, until fate–and a fairy godmother with a weakness for bad boys–throws her a curveball. Now, Alice is the newest resident of Wonderland, where the Mad Hatter fuels her fantasies and thrills her body with his dark touch.

The Mad Hatter may have a voice and a body made for sex, but he takes no lovers. Ever. But a determined fairy godmother has forced Alice into Wonderland–and his arms. Now, as desire and madness converge, the Hatter must decide if he will fight the fairy godmother’s mating–or fight for Alice.

My Review:

I know what you’re thinking.  Lynn, this is nothing but a bodice ripper.  Look at that man on the cover how could you think we could possibly take him seriously?  He’s wearing suspenders and still can’t hold his pants up.  I would then have to explain that he is the Mad Hatter and then I would then have to say something smart like you can’t judge a book by its cover.  And I have to say that you really can’t judge this book by its cover.  I checked it out because it was mad hatter.  I have this weird fascination with Lewis Carroll (Charles Dodgson).  When I was a child I would listen at school to Alice in Wonderland being read, I could only imagine that Lewis Carroll was either a genius or a lunatic.

My Carroll fascination aside, I would have to say that this story is a cousin to the bodice ripper.  Yes it has all of the sex that any self respecting bodice ripper would have but this story has something extra.  Believable characters.  A beautiful setting and  A PLOT.  It’s a good one too.  I will admit that I didn’t have high hopes for this novella.  It isn’t my usual fare.  But it had the Mad Hatter going for it.  I found that I read the whole novella in one sitting.

As far as the plot goes I have to say I enjoyed it.  Alice has to overcome the Hatter’s memories of the other Alice’s that have come before her.  That was twisted all on its own.  I won’t spoil the twist ending that I honestly can say that I didn’t see coming.  I think that’s what made this a winner for me.

It had great characters as well.  Not only was Alice reimagined but the Hatter was too.  I could see how crazy the Hatter was and how his madness was escalating.  Then there was Danika, godmother extraordinaire,  and her wand.  I haven’t read the next two stories yet, (yes I went and bought the Kingdom Series Collection) but this story alludes to Danika doing her best to set up the rest of her charges with wives.  I loved Danika she was my favorite character.  If all fairy godmothers were like Danika I may have wanted one as a child.  She’s spunky and determined but she also knows what she’s done to Hatter by bringing all of the Alice’s to him for untold decades.  She’s desperate to make it right.  I purchased Danika’s Surprise

because it says that there is more Danika, Alice, and Hatter in it.

I am now a mostly-reformed hater.  I will do my best not to look down on books that have chosen to include a lot of sex.  The sex can be skipped.  I almost missed a great story and that would have been a true tragedy.

If you love Alice in Wonderland consider that Kindle has The Complete Alice in Wonderland (Wonderland Imprints Master Edition).  This edition really is the definitive version.  I love it.  It even has essays as well as all of the Alice stories.

Stars: 4 out of 5

Rating: NC-17 This is strictly for adults only.

http://mariehallwrites.blogspot.com/

Jessica’s Review:

After reading Lynn’s review for this book I really wanted to give it a try.  My thought was I had been reading a lot of books lately to review, and I was just looking for something quick and fun.  I honestly didn’t expect to really enjoy the story line as much as I did.  I confess to immediately picking up the second book in the series as soon as I was done with this one.

Lynn says it all with the escalating madness of the mad hatter and Danika “godmother extraordinaire “.  The twist on Alice is fun and the ending is unexpected.  The story is rich in detail and the characters are well developed.  I felt like I was transported to Wonderland once again, only this time as an adult.  As with Lynn I highly recommend it.

Warning:  There are 5 books in the series.  If you like this one, I will guarantee you will be picking up the other four.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Novella Thursday: Her Mad Hatter

Leave a Reply

